About Us

The Office for International Students and Scholars (OISS) embraces Washington University in St. Louis’ mission of recruiting and retaining the most promising and accomplished students and scholars from around the world. These students and scholars enhance the diversity of both the university and St. Louis communities by integrating global perspectives into conversations in the classroom, campus venues and the greater community. The OISS enables international students and scholars to thrive academically and socially by meeting their unique needs and engaging them in American life and culture.

To promote success for international students and scholars, the OISS:

  • Collaborates with campus and community partners to provide a comprehensive set of resources and support services
  • Assists Washington University’s international populations by facilitating a smooth transition to and integration into the cultures of the U.S., the St. Louis community and the university
  • Offers English language support to strengthen academic and professional communication skills
  • Provides expertise on immigration and visa matters relevant to our international students and scholars

Director, OISS

Kathy Steiner-Lang
Assistant Vice Chancellor
ksteiner@wustl.edu
(314) 935-5910

Advising Staff

Martha_Turner
Martha Turner
Director, International Advising
mlturner@wustl.edu
(314) 935-5991


India Baker Hudspeth
International Student Advisor
ibhudspeth@wustl.edu
(314) 935-4787

Jason_Marquart
Jason Marquart
Team Leader for Programming,
International Student and Scholar Advisor
marquart@wustl.edu
(314) 935-5532


Kaaren Quezada
Senior International Student and Scholar Advisor
kquezada@wustl.edu
(314) 935-4931


Hannah Song
International Student Advisor
hhsong@wustl.edu
(314) 935-3562


Alma von Gontard
International Student and Scholar Advisor
avongontard@wustl.edu
(314) 935-9675


Desirée Waits
International Student and Scholar Advisor
dwaits@wustl.edu
(314) 935-7743

English Language Programs Staff


Karen Schwelle
Director, ELP
kschwelle@wustl.edu
(314) 935-5966

Cathy Raymond
Cathy Raymond
Assistant Director, ELP
craymond@wustl.edu
(314) 935-5046


Pam Dzunu
ELP Instructor
pdzunu@wustl.edu
(314) 935-7402

 

Administrative Staff

Emily Honeyball
Department Secretary
ehoneyball@wustl.edu
(314) 935-5910


Matt Marcantano
International Scholar Coordinator
m.marcantano@wustl.edu
(314) 935-9454

Jessica_Olson
Jessica Olson
Immigration Compliance Specialist
jolson@wustl.edu
(314) 935-5922


Jeanne Pizarro
Department Coordinator
jpizarro@wustl.edu
(314) 935-5904


Ashley Santana
International Student Coordinator
asantana@wustl.edu
(314) 935-9612